Sarah’s Move to Bernie

“I don’t know who in her campaign comes up with these brilliant ideas.”

Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Bernie Sanders (I-VT) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I started thinking about creating this blog I was imagining mostly posting my case in a very simple way with a few videos like Robert Reich’s 6 Responses to Bernie Critics, along with a bit of personal testimony about why I have chosen to support Bernie Sanders for President over Hillary Clinton. But the news has been getting so crazy this week, especially since Clinton’s campaign decided to go deeply negative after her Tuesday loss in Wisconsin, marking the 7th loss out of the last 8 contests, a fact that MSNBC personalities like Joe and Mika on Morning Joe seem to be still ignoring. See the video at the end of my last post for the announcement, in which her campaign was reported to say that their new strategy would be “disqualify him, defeat him, and . . . unify the party later.”

Does she remember how going negative worked for her in 2008 (“Shame on you Barack Obama!”)? I’ve already mentioned her “artful smear” of attacking the other candidate while trying to appear to be the victim. It seems that now she is at it again with what started as a frankly ridiculous attack on Bernie’s banking knowledge, and though she dodged Joe Scarborough’s question, and didn’t say directly that he was “unqualified,” what she did say was close enough for the Washington Post to print that Clinton lodged the claim. Sanders explains well enough for himself, so I’ll leave that to him.

Now Thursday afternoon her husband Bill Clinton made the unfathomable decision to attack Black Lives Matter. Like I said, crazy, right? It’s almost as if they don’t know that they still need votes. Bernie’s words from the link in the above paragraph seems appropriate here as well: “I don’t know who in her campaign comes up with these brilliant ideas.”

So, yes, unfortunately I feel compelled to spend some time responding to the craziness of the Clinton campaign as well as the cluelessness of the corporate media, but I’ll try to do it by quoting sources, providing links, and showing videos to keep things in context. Above all I will make a serious effort, despite the news, to try to stick to my simple message, as illustrated in the videos below: Why I am voting for Bernie Sanders.

Sarah Silverman speaks for me . . . well, mostly

Sure, she’s a comedian, but like good comedians, she’s also damned smart. And aside from the bush and cat food comments, one a joke, the other a hyperbole, she comes very close to saying exactly what I want to say about Bernie Sanders. I’ll include a second video of her being interviewed by Bill Maher, a guy I can’t say I always agree with. In the end of that video he asks Sarah about Bernie’s “problem” with the black vote. She doesn’t have an answer, but we’ll look at some videos and articles from other writers about that question coming up next.

 

 

2 Comments

    1. I can’t link to a specific speech off the top of my head, but I have heard Bernie address this, and it’s overall part of what he means by this political revolution, taking back the government for the people. Specifically, I’ve heard him and also some of his surrogates say that we need to keep this movement going, and get the votes out for the mid-term election. But I agree, it needs to be talked about much more in order to answer this concern we all have.

      Having said that, there are things beyond just executiver orders that Bernie could get done with out help from congress. He could oversee the Federal reserve, appoint a new Attorney General who would actually prosecute financial institutions who engage in risky and illegal activity. That sort of thing.

      I would like to see this talked about more by Bernie though.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

